UP Fighting Maroons, Champions of the 84th UAAP Basketball Game

FINAL: The University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons βœŠπŸΌ wins the Championship game over the Ateneo de Manila University Blue EaglesπŸ¦…, 72-69, in the last Battle of Katipunan of UAAP Season 84.

The UP Fighting Maroons showed off an impressive performance in their do-or-die game, ending the reign of the three-time champion, Ateneo, last 13 May 2022 at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

This is the first championship title in Men’s Basketball the university won since 1986.

The victory also ended the 36-year title drought of UP in the UAAP since 1986.

The victory also gave the state university its third title since the games were founded in 1938. The UP Fighting Maroons shared the 1939-40 Men’s Championship title with Far Eastern University and the University of Santo Tomas.

The state university squad last held the crown 36 years ago in October 1986 at the expense of the University of the East Warriors, in a 98-89 triumph over the two-time defending champions in games held at the ULTRA (now PhilSports Arena) in Pasig City.

Malick Diouf was declared the Most Valuable Player of the Finals Series while Carl Tamayo was earlier named Rookie of the Year.

The UP Fighting Maroons won via an overtime decision with a score of 72-69.


UP 72 – Diouf 17, Cansino 14, Cagulangan 13, Rivero 9, Alarcon 8, Tamayo 6, Spencer 5, Lucero 0, Abadiano, Fortea 0.

Ateneo 69 – Belangel 27, Kouame 12, Mamuyac 10 Koon 6, Verano 5, Lazaro 5, Ildefonso 2, Tio 2, Andrade 0, Daves 0, Chiu 0.


  • https://www.thesummitexpress.com/2022/05/uaap-up-wins-against-ateneo.html
  • https://www.goodnewspilipinas.com/watch-up-fighting-maroons-end-36-years-title-drought-in-uaap-victory-vs-ateneo/
  • https://ph.news.yahoo.com/maroons-edges-ateneo-win-uaap-135200412.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *