2022 Election Race Officially Starts Running

Image Source: Inquirer

The 2022 campaign period for the National Elections officially started last 8 February 2022 but for the Local Elections, it will commence on 25 March 2022. The race will be until 7 May 2022 albeit having breaks on 14 April 2022 (Maundy Thursday) and 15 April 2022 (Good Friday). Election day will be on 9 May 2022.

The final ballot from the Comelec reflected 10 candidates for president, 9 for vice president, 64 for senators, and 177 party-list groups.

Here is the list of candidates for the top two national posts, president and vice-president.

  • Ernesto Abella (Independent), Filipino businessman, writer and former evangelist, former undersecretary of Foreign Affairs and presidential spokesperson
  • Leody de Guzman (PLM or Partido Lakas ng Masa), current chairman of Bukluran ng Manggagawang Pilipino and founding member of Partido ng Manggagawa
  • Norberto Gonzales (PDSP or Philippine Democratic Socialist Party), former Secretary of National Defense
  • Panfilo Lacson (Reporma or Partido para sa Demokratikong Reporma), incumbent senator; former police general serving as a Senator since 2016, and previously from 2001 to 2013. He was the Director General of the Philippine National Police (PNP) from 1999 to 2001, and was a candidate in the 2004 presidential election.
  • Faisal Mangondato (Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi), businessman
  • Bongbong Marcos (PFP or Partido Federal ng Pilipinas), served as a senator from 2010 to 2016. He is the second child and only son of former president and dictator Ferdinand Marcos Sr. and former First Lady Imelda Romualdez Marcos.
  • Jose Montemayor (DPP or Democratic Party of the Philippines), Heart specialist – Philippine Heart Center, St. Luke’s Medical Center, National Kidney and Transplant Institute; Lawyer – Civil, Criminal, Corporate, Human Rights, Medico-Legal
  • Francisco “Isko” Moreno Domagoso (Aksyon or Aksyon Demokratiko), also known by his stage name Isko Moreno; politician and actor currently serving as the incumbent 22nd Mayor of Manila since 2019
  • Manny Pacquiao (PROMDI or Progressive Movement for the Devolution of Initiatives or Probinsya Muna Development Initiative), incumbent senator of the Philippines since 2016, former professional boxer (the only eight-division world champion in the history of boxing and has won twelve major world titles)
  • Leni Robredo (Independent), Filipino lawyer, politician, and social activist who is the 14th and incumbent vice president of the Philippines.

A total of 97 individuals indicated their intention to run for president, while 29 expressed running for vice president.

  • Lito Atienza (PROMDI or Progressive Movement for the Devolution of Initiatives or Probinsya Muna Development Initiative), incumbent House representative for Buhay and House deputy speaker
  • Walden Bello (PLM or Partido Lakas ng Masa), academic, environmentalist, and social worker
  • Rizalito David (DPP or Democratic Party of the Philippines), Radio Commentator, Gising Kapatid and Ang Turo ng Inang Simbahan at DZRV 846 Radio Veritas Broadcasting System Incorporation; Executive Director at Pro-life Philippines Foundation, Inc.
  • Sara Duterte (Lakas or Lakas-CMD), incumbent mayor of Davao City
  • Manny SD Lopez (WPP or Workers and Peasants Party aka Labor Party Philippines), political activist who advocates direct democracy; convenor of such groups as the anti-Bangsamoro Basic Law group that called itself Christian Peace Alliance and the anti-Benigno Aquino III group called EdlSA 2.22.15 Coalition; formed the EPIRMA, a group of direct democracy advocates.
  • Willie Ong (Aksyon or Aksyon Demokratiko), public health advocate and former Department of Health consultant
  • Francis Pangilinan (Liberal), incumbent senator
  • Carlos Serapio (Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi), lawyer/consultant
  • Tito Sotto (NPC or Nationalist People’s Coalition), incumbent president of the Senate of the Philippines

So, who will win the Presidential and Vice-Presidential race in this 2022 election? And, who will be fortunate to be Baguio City’s new dad? Let’s just wait and see. Vox Populi, Vox Dei!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *