Almost Disqualified Because of Sporstmanship

TAKE NOTE: THIS IS A REPOST OF THIS ARTICLE AT RUNNERS WORLD.

This is an interesting article because sportsmanship may also result either positively or negatively, depending on the situation. In this article, it ended positively.

You can read the whole article at the link posted at above. Thank you.

Runner Ben Boardley from Penn High School in Mishawaka, Indiana, is getting a lot of attention following his finish in the Indiana State High School Cross-Country Meet on October 31.
But it’s not for his race finish. Instead, it’s for an act of sportsmanship that almost got him disqualified.
Boardley told Runner’s World he saw another runner, Faizan Khan from Brebeuf Jesuit High School, stumble and fall down about 30 meters out from the finish, so he immediately helped him back to his feet.
“I didn’t even need to think about it. I saw someone struggling and it was kind of an instinct to give him a lift,” Boardley said.
After crossing the finish, he found out helping out a fellow runner could’ve gotten him disqualified.
“An official came up to my coach and told him that I was almost disqualified, but they decided to let it be because it was a good show of sportsmanship,” Boardley said. “My coach actually told me afterwards that he was happy he never told our team about the rule because he believes helping others can be more important than winning in situations like that.”