ECQ Season 3 Due to COVID-19

COVID-19 ECQ Extended to 15May2020 as of 26April2020

It is now a trending topic even on Twitter Philippines, that is, #ECQSeason3 due to the extension of the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ).

The first extension was up to 30 April 2020. It was announced last 7 April 2020.

Now, it was announced that the second extension will be until 15 May 2020. The announcement was made via a televised briefing last 24 April 2020.

Hence, it is the 3rd season of the ECQ which was originally planned to be lifted after Easter Sunday or 13 April 2020.

Even Baguio City was not spared. Being located in Benguet, it was pronounced as having an outbreak probability rate of over 90%. This percentage was done by

getting the ratio of the number of cases in an area to the estimated outbreak threshold.
Benguet indeed has the smallest population, but its land area is among the largest. According to the UP COVID-19 team, those areas with over 90% outbreak probability need to have an extended ECQ.

List of areas under enhanced community quarantine until May 15:

  • National Capital Region/Metro Manila
  • Albay
  • Bataan
  • Batangas
  • Bulacan
  • Catanduanes
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Pampanga
  • Quezon
  • Rizal
  • Pangasinan (may change by April 30)
  • Benguet (may change by April 30)
  • Tarlac (may change by April 30)
  • Zambales (may change by April 30)

Areas that are still subject to review:

  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Cebu
  • Cebu City
  • Capiz
  • Iloilo
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Oro


DOH COVID-19 Tracker

GMA Network




Twitter Account of National Task Force Against COVID19

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *